WSA National Contest Bulgaria is Looking for Digital Innovators

ESICEE Editor Avatar

WSA National Contest Bulgaria is Looking for Digital Innovators! 

The World Summit Award National Contest Bulgaria is the national competition of the global follow-up initiative of the United Nations World Summit on Information Society (WSIS) – World Summit Award (WSA), organized by the International Center for New Media (ICNM). The goal of WSA is to make the benefits of the new Information Society accessible and meaningful for all humanity, and in particular, to raise public awareness and give deserved public recognition to the highest quality e-Content, produced all over the world. In Bulgaria, the competition is coordinated by European Software Institute – Center Eastern Europe (ESI CEE).

WSA National Contest Bulgaria 2020 is now open! National Experts are searching for unique digital content that makes a difference! Propose applications, websites, or other exciting digital content filling the registration form here until May 31, 2020, show off the unique value of your product and put it on a global stage at the WSA Global Congress 2021!

The World Summit Awards are a unique awards system, selecting and promoting local digital innovation with a high impact on improving society. The World Summit Awards is a non-monetary award system with a focus on sustainable knowledge transfer through a worldwide network. Winners benefit not from a one-time financial reward, but a lifelong partnership and integration.

With over 15 years of international experience, WSA is a quality seal for digital content with societal impact in over 180 participating countries.

The World Summit Awards are also a nomination based award system. To participate you need to be nominated by a WSA National Expert as the best national digital application in one of the 8 categories. The nominations to WSA are possible through national contests and national expert panel selection. Each country can only nominate one project/solution per category.

Through this high-level selection system, please be aware that every country has its own deadlines for the call. The generally communicated WSA deadline is the timeframe of the global call and communicates the last possible date of a nomination by the national expert panel.

WSA Young Innovators

The World Summit Awards promotes and awards also young innovators, who developed a digital application tackling the UN SDGs. The WSA Young Innovators is a special recognition for young social entrepreneurs under 26 years of age, using ICTs to take action on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs).

Together with the WSA winners of each year, they are honored as outstanding digital innovation with social impact.

The WSA Young Innovators Award is an open call. Participation in the WSA Young Innovators is open to any entrepreneur, company, student group or project team – at least one of the founding members and the majority of the team must be under the age of 26 (born on or after January 1, 1994).

WSA Categories

WSA categories reflect the UN WSIS action lines and are updated regularly to meet the development of the markets. For the edition of the World Summit Awards 2020 the categories are:


    services | open data | democratic participation
    medical care | sport | lifestyle
    knowledge | science | skills
    climate | sustainable resources | agriculture
    heritage | entertainment | subcultures
    mobility |productive work | sustainable living
    innovative services | security | finance | marketing
    diversity | gender | justice | human rights

Interested in participating? Apply now!

Skip to content